Superior Wisconsin is requiring lead safe renovator and lead safe company numbers on all new permits for property older than 1978 read the following information to be able to comply. You will also have to Meet new Department of Commerce requirements to get a permit on a house or duplex that is not owner occupied. I am working with Lake States Environmental to schedule a class in Superior about once a month for Landlords and Contractors for the new Lead-Safe Renovation Initial Course
If you wish to sign up or have questions Contact Marty Curtiss 218-390-1801 or email email@example.com
Wisconsin’s Lead-Safe Renovation Rule, DHS 163
Guidelines for Rental Property Owners and Managers
The Wisconsin Department of Health Services is now approved by the U.S. EPA to
administer and enforce the Lead-Safe Renovation program in Wisconsin.
Safe renovation of old housing is the best way to protect Wisconsin children from
lead poisoning. Property maintenance personnel and renovators who are not
trained in lead-safe work practices risk exposing themselves and occupants to lead
at the job site and exposing their own families by bringing lead dust home on their
The Law: Beginning April 22, 2010, renovation work will be regulated when performed
for compensation in a dwelling or child-occupied facility built before 1978 and it
disturbs 6 sq. ft. or more of paint per room, 20 sq. ft. or more of exterior paint, or
involves windows. This includes rental property owners and management companies
and their employees.
By April 22, 2010, a rental property owner/management company must:
1. Become a Certified Lead-Safe Company or hire only certified companies to do
paint disturbing work covered under the regulation.
To become a certified company, apply to DHS.
Lead-Safe Company certification is $75 and is valid for 2 years.
To find a Certified Lead-Safe Company or to download a company
application form, go to www.dhs.wi.gov/lead.
2. Have at least one Certified Lead-Safe Renovator on staff or hire a Certified Lead-
Safe Company that has a Certified Lead-Safe Renovator.
To become certified, a person must complete required training and apply to
DHS for certification.
? Lead-Safe Renovator certification is $50 and is valid for 2 years.
Each renovation project must have a certified Lead-Safe Renovator in charge.
Training required for Lead-Safe Renovators:
1-day Lead-Safe Renovation Initial Course.
Persons who completed a Lead-Safe Work course in Wisconsin before August
2009 may take a 4-hour Lead-Safe Renovator Refresher Course to qualify.
Refresher training is required every 4 years.
Go to www.dhs.wi.gov/lead to find approved trainers, or call 608-261-6876